Deal Flow
Letter · prints on one page
Transaction tear sheetData as of Nov 7, 2026
M&A · Energy · Crude Petroleum & Natural Gas

Chord Energy Corp to acquire ENERPLUS Corp

Announced Feb 26, 2024 · Closed May 31, 2024

Deal value—
Premium—To unaffected price
EV / Adj. EBITDA—
ConsiderationCash and stock

Transaction

Acquirer
Chord Energy Corp (CHRD)
Target
ENERPLUS Corp
Buyer type
Strategic
Offer price per share
—
Enterprise value
—
Status
Closed May 31, 2024

Deal protections

Not yet read from the merger agreement.

Advisors

To the acquirer
Not disclosed
To the target
Not disclosed

Sector context · Energy

Comparable deals
37 in the prior 24 months
Premium
Sector median 24.6%
EV / Adj. EBITDA
Sector median 8.7x
Break fee
Sector median 2.9%

Timeline

  1. AnnouncedFeb 26, 2024
  2. ClosedMay 31, 2024
Sources
  • DEFA14A · Feb 26, 2024

Adj. EBITDA is operating income + D&A + impairment, restructuring, deal costs and stock compensation, less any large gain on a sale, last twelve months, from the target's filings. Calculated by Castle, so it can differ from a bank's adjusted figure.

Prepared with Castle from public SEC EDGAR filings. Figures are extracted automatically; verify against the source documents. Not investment advice.